Hello world!

I’ve struggled with the concept of blogging for years. Why do it? Why don’t we just use diaries/journals instead? Are we all narcissists? Are we afraid that if we don’t describe every little thing of import we won’t leave our tiny, seemingly permanent mark on this ever changing world? I don’t know. I’ve started run-of-the-mill, here’s what I’m doing for the day-type blogs in the past and lost interest in them (sometimes) overnight.

What I find attractive about blogging in theory is that there is the possibility of accountability to a wide audience. Accountability? For what? Well, there are many areas of my life that need tweaking. To be honest, the last 5 years of my life feel like one big hamster wheel of starting and stopping, starting and stopping. My goal is that I will feel accountable to The Void by blogging about the next several months and then go from there.

Before I can see where I’m going, it’s important to know where I am. I’m a big fan of The Slight Edge way of thinking as articulated by Jeff Olson. The book is genius – easy to read, hard to apply in some cases (thanks to years of bad programming), and brilliant in its simplicity. For those of you unfamiliar with The Slight Edge, I’ll use the author’s words to explain in a nutshell:

“Success is the progressive realization of a worthy ideal. ‘Progressive’ means success is a process, not a destination. It’s something you experience gradually, over time.” (p. 30). “The right choices you make today, compounded over time, will take you higher and higher up the success curve of this real-time movie called ‘your life.” (p. 39). Just as surely, the wrong choices you make today, compounded over time will take you lower and lower down the failure curve. Make sense?

My main focus for this blog is to hold myself accountable in the health department and in household organization. Since this is the first blog entry (first, meaning hopefully not the last – that’s the tepid spirit!), let’s take an honest look at my health:

Am I building my health every day? The way I eat, the way I exercise, the kind of schedule I keep, the ways in which I take care of myself – are all these building a greater feeling of health and vibrancy in my life every day?

My health is just barely hanging on to the success curve – and by barely, I mean only because of some changes I made last night. In recent history, I haven’t been eating or exercising how I know I should; I’ve been staying up way too late and not getting enough sleep. So where do I want to see myself? My dream is to simply live a healthy life – I don’t want to diet, I just want to eat healthy (read: Paleo!!)! I don’t want to spend 2 hours/day in the gym like I did in my 20’s; I want to be active and do Crossfit 3x/week. I want my beautiful little daughter (she’ll be 2 on October 20!) to grow up in a household where emphasis on looks and dieting is not paramount – to grow up simply living a healthy life.

Okay, now let’s take an honest look at my household organization: it’s crap! My house is such a mess right now, it’s ridiculous. I feel like I’m living the life of a college co-ed and not a 32 year old wife, mother and attorney. Seriously. I have put no effort into decorating the house and making it a home so why is it a shock when we don’t treat the house with any respect? Dishes are out of control, there are 10 loads of laundry to be done, etc. All day at work I’ll be thinking “yeah, I’m in the mood to clean tonight. I’ll get so much done…” I set one foot in the door and walk the seven steps up to the main living area (split level house) and I feel my shoulders slump in defeat. What the fudge is wrong with me?! Okay, so where do I want to see myself with household organization? I think I need to clean the house as if my life depended on it, paint some freakin’ walls in my ginormous living room so there’s not so much white staring at me, get laundry down to zero and work on MAINTAINING. Oh, maintaining, you elusive little minx.

This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

